top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDiego Delgado

The Basic Introduction Into ISM

Updated: Aug 30, 2021

I have finally been able to dip my toe into the pool that is ISM. One of the first things that I did was give a speech in front of the entire class, that was when I quickly learned that I would need to work on slowing down when I talk because I always try to speed up and get it over with as soon as possible. I may do this because I need to calm down and be more confident when I speak in front of other people. In my speech, I talked about my passion for the field of orthopedics and what I wanted to do in the future, which I am currently debating about being in surgery because I don’t know how I'd feel about seeing blood. So far throughout the beginning of my ISM experience, I have learned that I need to be very responsible and have impeccable time management skills in order to truly succeed. Through my first couple weeks in ISM, I have been anxious about starting my research because it is something that I am truly excited about as I saw my sister go through this entire process, and it looked like such an amazing experience. She was able to do things that were far beyond the normal high school experience and she made connections that helped in her professional career. However, before I begin this amazing journey I need to prepare myself by setting aside a certain amount of time to make sure that I am not rushing my work and research. I’ll accomplish that by setting a schedule of what work needs to be completed first and trying to finish deliverables ahead of schedule. I also need to freshen up on my medical vocabulary so I am not confused in any of the articles that I read or when I am with my mentor. Next week I would like to explore more about the musculoskeletal system and start developing a better understanding on how the bones and muscles work together in order to achieve the most basic bodily functions. I will also be working on expanding my contact list on LinkedIn and perhaps even trying to find a mentor who I feel best emulates what I want to do as a future career.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page